(Final Assignment – Part 1) On game & Sound design

The final assignment for the game design introduction course is to make a game concept in groups of 7. Each groupmember has a specific role to fulfill. These roles are:

Producer
Game Designer
Lead Art
Lead Code
Lead Sound
QA (Quality Assurance)

My role is lead sound design. As a sound designer, my job is to choose, explain and justify the sound decisions of the game. I don’t, in fact, have to create the sounds myself. I may if I wish, just show examples of sounds I would like implemented.

As the game is subject to change and without an art style and game rythm to model my sounds after, I have very little to work on right now. As of now, some game design decisions have been made.

The game we´re working on is based on two keywords supplied to us by our teacher. Every group has different keywords. For my group, the keywords are Fancy Pants & Clueless. We decided, with the designer as final word, to make a top-down, puzzle solving game with limited map visibility. The player uses a boomerang-effect projectile which temporarily increases the vision for the player. On the map, there is only one enemy present which is alerted by your projectile as well as noises you make.

I haven´t worked on SFX yet, but I have worked on a short music loop. My goals for the tune was loopability, stress-inducement and to make it ”feel aged” (as our assumed art style is victorian). With this in mind, I made a relatively fast piece of music, which loops, is in a minor key (for the dark environment) and the instrument of choice is a Harpsichord (to make it sound ”old”). Here’s version 1 of the theme:

made using Sibelius 7

Enjoy and stay tuned for more.

Lämna en kommentar